Certified Software Test Manager (CSTM)

Posted on Jul 2 2009 - 6:31am by Raj

Certified Software Test Manager(CSTM) certification is provided by STQC IT Service Centre, India.

About CSTM Certification:

  • CSTM certification is a formal recognition of competenceof practicing professionals
  • It is the process of validation ad recognition of knowledge, skills and personal attributes among the testing professionals
  • Professionals need to demonstrate their proficiency within a specified BOK of CSTM.

The Objectives of CSTM certification are as follows:

  • Enable software professionals to acquire skills of software testing through training
  • Enable them to become eligible for CSTM certification examinations
  • Help them to acheive professional certification.
  • Enable them to implement the knowledge and skills on software testing (Verification & Validation techniques) in day to day jobs.

People with the following job profiles will benefit from this course / certification:

  • Software Testing Professionals
  • Test Leads/Managers
  • Members of Software Quality Assurance Group (SQA)
  • Members of Software Engineering Process Group (SEPG)

The Eligibility Criteria for CSTM Certification is as follows:

  • Bachelors degree in engineering or Master degree in Science / Computer Science with at least 2 years of relevant work experience
  •  OR Diploma in Engineering or Bachelors degree with at least 3 years of relevant work experience
  • The work experience should be relevant to the title and should be in the field of software
    development, inspection, reviews, testing and/or QA.

Prerequisites for CSTM Certification:

Must have attended the CSTM refresher course conducted at any STQC IT Service Centre.

Body of knowledge:

  1. CSTM – An Introduction                    [General Information; no Questions]
  2. Software Testing Introduction
  3. Testing Standards & best practices    [25 Marks] i.e. 25 one mark questions
  4. Static Testing                                 [15 Marks] i.e. 15 one mark questions
  5. Dynamic Testing                             [30(5+25) Marks] i.e. 5 one mark questions and 5 descriptive type questions
  6. Testing throughout the life cycle       [30 Marks] i.e. 30 one mark questions
  7. Test Management                           [50(25+25) Marks] i.e. 25 one mark questions and 5 descriptive type questions

The above information is also available in CSTM Course Material. Please refer the course material for any future updation.

Course Contents:

The body of knowledge for CSTM contains below essential knowledge areas of software development lifecycle. These modules are available in CSTM course book Version 5:

  • CSTM Introduction
  • Principles of Testing
  • Testing Standards ad best practices
  • Static Testing
  • Dynamic Testing
  • Testing throughout the life cycle
  • Test Management 

Participants (scoring >=60% marks) will be awarded “Certificate of Achievement”.

The CSTM certification will make you confident to undertake test management activities and a professional pride in belonging to the School of Certified Professionals.

For further detailed information of the Certification please check the following link:

About the Author

Leave A Response